photo by Mimi Peace

Dana Ypma, MA

Executive Director

Dana Ypma joined Island Women Against Violence as executive director in September 2011. Hailing from Calgary, Alberta, Dana has graduated from the University of Calgary, and Royal Roads University. With over 25 years’ experience in the social service sector she brings a strong history of not for profit, social service, community advocacy, and housing experience. In her current role with Island Women Against Violence, Dana continues to champion the important work on behalf of those whose lives have been affected by poverty, violence, abuse, and homelessness. Dana represents IWAV on a number of committees, including acting as co-chair of the Salt Spring Island Health Advancement Network.

Island Women Against Violence is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors comprised of women from the community who believe in the mandate and purposes of the organisation and bring a variety of skills and background to their work at the Board level.

Susan Dann


Susan Dann has been a member of the IWAV board for 3 and a half year. She has worked for federal government funding programs in employment development, disability and health promotion. Susan’s work life has included 10 years as a private consultant with several NGOs and has recently worked for the Salt Spring Island Conservancy as an Outreach and Volunteer Coordinator. She loves gardening!

Philippa Tattersall


Philippa has been a member of the IWAV Board of Directors since 2014. Her experience includes promoting women’s health and working with people who are challenged by being under housed or homeless. She is committed to working towards peace within communities and individual lives.

Alicia Herbert


Alicia Herbert is an experienced communicator, with a Diploma of Marketing from the British Columbia Institute of Technology. She brings to the board 30 years of experience working with island non-profits. She has run her own small company, and has been employed as a Marketing Team leader, and as a Business Banker. Alicia is proud to support the work of IWAV.

Kristi Reynolds


Kristi Reynolds has recently joined the board of IWAV. She is passionate about empowering women and helping them achieve their dreams. With knowledge in personal and business finances, as well as personal health and fitness she is excited to use her knowledge through IWAV to help women in her community.

Brenda Hooge


Brenda has been a member of the IWAV Board of Directors since 2014. As a Registered Clinical Counsellor Brenda has over 30 years experience working for a variety of institutions and agencies and in her own private practice. She is committed to counselling a wide range of individuals struggling with mental health and addictions issues. Brenda is proud to support the goals of IWAV helping women in the Gulf Islands.

Karen Hudson


Karen Hudson has been Librarian for the Salt Spring Island Public Library since 2009, and received her MLIS degree from UBC. Karen has worked with non-profits for 28 years most recently as the Salt Spring Island Conservancy’s executive director for 7 years including creation of the SS Eco-Home Tour and protecting Mt. Erskine, and board member of the SS Forum.

Sarah Hamilton


Sarah Hamilton is a lawyer based on Salt Spring Island.  She grew up on Salt Spring and in Vancouver, has a combined honours degree in English Literature and Philosophy from the University of British Columbia, a Master of Arts degree from Trent University in Theory, Culture, and Politics, and most recently graduated with a Juris Doctor degree from the University of Toronto, Faculty of Law.  She has been on the IWAV Board since 2014, and is chair of the Governance Committee.

Hannah Dayneswood


Bio and Photo coming!